Skip to content

Clip: Palomar’s Shining Stars

09/21/2009

Complete article appeared in The Telescope (Sept. 21, 2009)

Trekking across thousands of miles to play football for Palomar College, Brice Schwab and Martavious Lee arrived as two lightly recruited players trying to make a name for themselves.
Schwab, who is from Pennsylvania, and Lee, from Florida both came to the San Marcos campus hoping to earn a football scholarship to a four-year school.
What they didn’t expect was the chance to play football at two of the highest esteemed college football teams in the nation as Schwab, an offensive lineman, has committed to USC and Lee, a wide receiver, will play next fall at Louisiana State.
Both players came to Palomar under different circumstances. Schwab was declared academically ineligible and wanted a fresh start.
“I was looking for junior colleges when I found out I was a non-qualifier academically,” Schwab said. “I was looking at schools in California and called Palomar. They called me back and we went from there. I just wanted a fresh start from Pennsylvania.”
Schwab plays tackle on the offensive line and was a first team all Southern Conference player last season. This year, he is a pre-season first team junior college All-American, and was voted on Rivals.com as the No. 2 prospect at any position in community college football.
Lee was just looking for a place to play junior college football.
“We don’t have any junior colleges in Florida and it was the best school that fit me,” Lee said. “They talked about how they run a spread offense and the way the system works; it is made for me to be successful, so I gave it a try.”
Lee finished the season as a second-team All-Southern Conference player last season and is rated the 21st best player by Rivals.com.
He also had offers from four other schools in Mississippi, Arizona, and Missouri, but followed his dream to play for the Tigers without visiting the
campus.
“LSU has been my favorite school growing up and I like how they run their football program,” Lee said. “They are always in the top five or 10 in the country and regularly have a chance at competing for a national championship.”
Lee will not have an official recruitment visit until after the season is over.
The last time Palomar had two players attend Bowl Championship Series schools was in 2001 when quarterback Andy Goodenough went to Arizona State and David Dixon attended Oregon. A BCS school is a team that plays in one of the top five conferences in college football. Schwab is also the first Comet to go to USC since Greg Farr in 2004.
Schwab was surprised to receive his scholarship after going there to watch a scrimmage.
“I went up there to watch a scrimmage and handed the coaches my film,” Schwab said. “The following week I went up there to watch another scrimmage and they told me they liked my film and after the scrimmage, I was called in to coach (Pete) Carroll’s office and offered a scholarship and I committed.
“I never thought I was going to go to. I didn’t have any interest in them because I didn’t think that they had any interest in me.”
Both players have enjoyed their experiences at Palomar and hope to transfer in the spring semester.
“Being here has been the best experience I have ever had,” Lee said. “The players, coaching staff – everything has been great.”
“It’s been awesome,” Schwab said. “The coaching staff has been awesome.”
Schwab will major in business at USC while Lee will be a criminal justice major.
“We have had the luxury of having a lot of players to go on to big schools, there just another two in a long line of good tradition of good history,” Early said.
“They have been good leaders and we expect them and hope that they will to be successful,” Early said. “More than that, the thing we look at is they are getting the education paid for and they get to play at top notch programs.”

From → Clips

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

